Mobile hotspot (MiFi)

Weeks ago a friend came to me asking some help, he bought a Samsung Corby phone, he was trying to configure the phone to use as modem. Unfortunately with USB cable it was not working out and configuring with Bluetooth was tricky. That Corby has WIFI capability, So he came up with a idea to share phones GPRS connection over WIFI. We used to know about this features in windows mobile (ICS), but unfortunately Samsung Corby is neither a windows mobile, nor a Symbian or android based phone. So there was no way to do it. So we leave it there.

Later I was thinking about that feature – Sharing phone’s GPRS/3G connection over WIFI in my Symbian phone. I searched a for a while and found the app I was looking for.

JoikuSpot. This app will turn your smartphone into a wifi hotspot. It creates an ad-hoc access point on your smartphone, other wifi enable devices like laptop, smartphones will connect through that access point to use GPRS/3G connection.

This app is not free so, I tried out the trial version. It was cool, but trial version would not allow you to changed some settings, like SSID, security settings, IP address etc. In app’s status page you can see the AP uptime, clients connected, up/down usage.

Overall this app works good, just the down side is GPRS and wifi running together continually will drain phone’s battery quickly. 3G connection is still not available in my place and GPRS connection is very slow, rarely sometime I needed to use my GPRS connection to connect my laptop to internet, so I don’t need to use this app. Bluetooth/USB is enough for my personal use.

About Pilot

I am a geeky guy, like to study and experiments with computers, mobiles other gadgets. I watch science and traveling channels. Love to listen music and watch movies.
This entry was posted in Applications and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

