Opera mini 5.1 beta for Symbian/S60 impression

Yesterday I came to know a new version (beta) of Mini for available Symbian/s60. So today I downloaded and tried it out on my E63. On my previous post I mentioned about some issues in opera mini. In this beta version they solved those issues and improved performance.

  • Now QWERTY keyboard working properly, CAPS (Shift) and Numb (Fn) lock keys working, so no need to hold down shift and Fn key while typing lots of capital or numeric characters. Additional symbol menu showing up on pressing Chr key.
  • Copy/Paste function working properly.
  • Performance improved for start-up and page loading
  • Option for selecting default access point – so the access point selection pop-up doesn’t show on every start-up.

I was wondering why everybody saying  “The native version”, well now Opera Mini  have sis and sisx coding instead of java. 8)

Just noticed one thing missing – feed subscription icon, which used to displayed on the top of the feed enabled pages in earlier versions. hoping they will fixed this little thing in further release.

Anyway I liked this new version and I am using it as my primary mobile browser 🙂 Still sometime I’ll be needed to use Opera Mobile for accessing my local services 😉

About Pilot

I am a geeky guy, like to study and experiments with computers, mobiles other gadgets. I watch science and traveling channels. Love to listen music and watch movies.
This entry was posted in Applications and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment