WordPress for Nokia

When I made my account on WordPress, I noticed they have official WordPress application for some platforms/devices like iPhone, iPad, Android. But I didn’t find an app for Nokia (Symbian) and I was surprised to see that. As iPhone, iPad and android Symbian is a very popular platform. So I search for an app on Symbian platform and found an application – WordMobi. I don’t really used WordMobi for writing and publishing any post, i just tried it for a while. WordMobi had most of those features usually needed but I didn’t like its text-based interface much. After that I didn’t search for more because mostly I used to do my blogging from computer and by email from mobile.

Today while I was reading some blogs, suddenly I thought to look once again if there any official or 3rd party WordPress application available for Symbian. I found an official WordPress application from http://dev.nokia.wordpress.org/. I think the application still in beta stage. Some additional plugins/add-ons/library need to be installed to run the WordPress application. Although installation was easy but it took long time to download and install those necessary plugins/add-ons/libraries. After some unsuccessful attempt finally I installed the app on my E63.

Here are some screenshots I took while using the application

After lunching the application first time, while I was inputting my password noticed a issue. Suppose my password is 12345, after processing 1 key while I pressed 2 key 1 got replaced by 2. Using a trick I able to type my password and got connected to my blog. Application developers need to look on the password input section 🙂

Using this application you can view, approve, delete, spam, reply comments. Create new post, assign category, tags, time, photos, videos, location (not available on 0.8.2 for S60 3.1) to post. Publish it or save it to local or blog draft. You can also view, edit, and delete your existing posts. You can create edit and delete page. You can see your blog stat and can manage multiple blog.

GUI of the application is nice but I felt like it’s targeted for touch screen devices mainly. On non-touch screen device I didn’t find it very user friendly. Still there are many users using non touch devices. I started writing this post on the mobile, I found I need to make some correction while I was writing, It was little difficult to navigate to the word/sentence I wanted to change. I thought paste some parts of the post I wrote in note but unfortunately this application doesn’t support copy/paste. So I saved this post as draft and later edited using computer and publish.

Overall WordPress for Nokia application is good. I hope they will improve more in feather release.

About Pilot

I am a geeky guy, like to study and experiments with computers, mobiles other gadgets. I watch science and traveling channels. Love to listen music and watch movies.
This entry was posted in Applications and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment